Skip to content

Quiet on the Set

May 22, 2013

So I’m thinking of doing a video or two to practice speaking one or more of my various languages.

I’ve mentioned obliquely (on another of my twitter feeds) that I’m contemplating doing a post or two in something other than English – I’d obviously have to post it in English as well, as the majority of my readers are English-speaking – just for the sake of trying it out, but that’s really little substitute for the idea of getting some basic practice aloud.

The bigger questions, of course, are what to actually do on said video, and where.

One of the most memorable (for me) videos was one of Benny Lewis, of Fluent In 3 Months fame, doing a tour of his apartment in multiple languages.  I’m not really that keen on the idea perhaps of doing a tour of my house due to my paranoia about putting a video tour of my house online, but… at least that’d give me something to speak about.  My office isn’t quiet interesting enough to be discussing, since I have but a small cube.

And yes, I’m aware that the more important thing would be actually practicing speaking, more than what I’m talking about.

Have any of you done something like this while practicing a language?  How did you decide what you were going to film yourself talking about?

5 Comments
  1. Mariola (http://languagewanderer.com) did some videos in Norwegian, interviewing Norwegians about the different languages they spoke, why they thought it was important to learn foreign languages, etc. You could perhaps do something like that, i.e. interview native speakers of a language you speak in that language about their opinions on various matters. And then add subtitles so that the rest of us can follow 😉

    • *grins* That’d require me to find native speakers of any of them around here… 😉

      • Ah, I thought you mentioned an Argentinian guy at work, and that there were some Hebrew speakers ambling about in your neighbourhood…

      • The Hebrew speakers are about as American as I am, though. 🙂

        The point is valid, though, with Augosto… I dunno why that didn’t occur to me. Meh…

      • As long as they are happy to speak it and they are competent, it’s still a worthwhile exercise! And they might have family visiting from Israel…

Leave a Reply

Autism Mom

One mom, one child, one experience on the Autism spectrum

SixSidedStars

Many Teams. One Nation.

Cailyn's Dad

The story of a father's battle with his daughter's battle with Autism

My Least Favorite Child Today

A daily ranking of my children

Autism Odysseys

Life with 4 neuroexceptional kids.

Summer all year round12

#Summerallyearround #4PawsforAbility #4PawsforSummer #ServicePaws4Summer

rosewoodgirls

Changing the Way We Think About Learning Differences

developing dad

fatherhood, family, life and love.

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Contemplative Chaos

Mother, Wife, Teacher, Writer, Perfectionist

Autism Uncensored

Capturing our Autism Journey

Autism Awareness

Wish you could see the world through my eyes

Dad Enough

A dad, his son, and dealing with Autism

Candice Curry - W3

Your story could be the key that unlocks someone else's prison. Share your story

caringforcara

The journey with our daughter, Cara.

Language Boat

immersion language learning

Different, Not Less

My Daughter On The Autism Spectrum

