Skip to content

Onwards – #Add1Challenge, Take 2

January 9, 2014

So here it is.  The application for my second #add1challenge.

#1: Very briefly introduce yourself, tell us why you are joining the Add1Challenge

I think you all know me by now.  😉  I’m doing Add1Challenge again because I like the routine it forces me into, that it keeps me studying a bit every day on something that I don’t have to be studying.

#2: What language will you take on?

Ladino, otherwise known as Judeo-Spanish.

#3: What is your past experience of this language?

I’ve briefly leafed through Beginning Ladino by Alla Markova.  I have a copy of The Manual of Judeo-Spanish: Language and Culture by Marie-Christine Varol on its way to me.  I do speak Spanish reasonably well, and my Hebrew is… passable.  I know the modern Hebrew alphabet, and once upon a time, as a young teen, I supposedly learned to read Rashi-script, but I can’t make heads or tails of it today.

#4: What is the beginning and end date (latest by April 15th, 2014) of your challenge?

I’m going to begin on Sunday, January 12th, and run through April 12th.  I’d start sooner, but I have a bonspiel (curling tournament) this weekend.

#5: What goal are you shooting for? What habit are you building?

I am shooting for 30 minutes of study in Ladino a day, six days a week.  My goal will include not just speaking and listening, but reading and writing as well.  And ‘reading and writing’ will include learning Solitreo, the Hebrew cursive used for Ladino, as well as brushing up on my massively-rusty Rashi-script.

#6: What will you use to track and measure your progress?

I will be checking in on Twitter.   I will not use Lift.do as many of the other Add1Challenge participants do – as I did for much of the last one – because I detest the new interface and the way the application now works.  (Without getting too vicious here… I liked being able to get feedback from other participants without having to ‘friend’ them.  I’m not on Lift to form a community.)

#7: Create something at stake, what rewards or punishment can you create?

Obviously, I didn’t end up having to clean the house this time. 😉

For every day I miss studying, my wife gets a night of my cooking dinner.  (And my bringing home pizza or take-out doesn’t count.)

#8: How often will you update and where so we can follow your progress?

I am intending to do videos on YouTube, and post weekly progress reports here.  My videos will number three: one on day 31, one on day 61, and one on day 91.  (Five is right out.)

#9: What will you do on day 91 so you know that you completed the challenge?

I do not know any native speakers, so that’s out.  On Day 91, I’ll have a video in Ladino… and something written in Solitreo posted here.

Wish me luck!

2 Comments
  1. Good luck! Sounds like a really interesting project, can’t wait to read your updates

    • I’m hoping it turns out interestingly. It’s definitely “different” than any of the languages I’d have perhaps chosen if I was going for something practical.

      And maybe, if it goes well, it’ll encourage other folks to learn the language.

Leave a Reply

Autism Mom

One mom, one child, one experience on the Autism spectrum

SixSidedStars

Many Teams. One Nation.

Cailyn's Dad

The story of a father's battle with his daughter's battle with Autism

My Least Favorite Child Today

A daily ranking of my children

Autism Odysseys

Life with 4 neuroexceptional kids.

Summer all year round12

#Summerallyearround #4PawsforAbility #4PawsforSummer #ServicePaws4Summer

rosewoodgirls

Changing the Way We Think About Learning Differences

developing dad

fatherhood, family, life and love.

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Contemplative Chaos

Mother, Wife, Teacher, Writer, Perfectionist

Autism Uncensored

Capturing our Autism Journey

Autism Awareness

Wish you could see the world through my eyes

Dad Enough

A dad, his son, and dealing with Autism

Candice Curry - W3

Your story could be the key that unlocks someone else's prison. Share your story

caringforcara

The journey with our daughter, Cara.

Language Boat

immersion language learning

Different, Not Less

My Daughter On The Autism Spectrum

