Skip to content

And From the Shadows, I Return…

January 2, 2015

I’ve been way, way too quiet for a while.

There’ve been a lot of other things occupying my time rather than my blog here, unfortunately – my other blog has been suffering quite a bit as well, I fear, though not as much.  I’ve taken on some responsibilities offline, and there’s been dealing with work matters.

But the languages are being kept up.  I’ve not gotten back around to reinforcing my Hebrew, but my Spanish is doing just fine (thank y’all very much) and I’ve started on Portuguese on Duolingo as well, while working on keeping my French tree gold…

There’s the matter of reinforcement, of course.  And that is where today’s return to here is going to pick up.

So, the wife’s been working on her Spanish for a bit, and she just won airfare for a trip to the Dominican Republic, so we were planning on a trip to Punta Cana.  She’s been teasing me quite a bit about the resort we were looking at, how many of the guests there seem to be French-speaking (mostly Quebecois), and that I’d finally get a chance to use my French instead of my Spanish.  Now, my last experience using my French was somewhat traumatic, but I figured that on vacation, I could at least be game and try again, for the sake of it.

The trip kind of fell through.  Due to a fax snafu, the agency through which she’d won the airfare never got her affidavits, and our trip therefore’s been postponed to this summer.  No Punta Cana for us at the moment.

However… it seems that my French needs to be reinforced PDQ, because I’m going to have the opportunity to actually use it in pursuit of one of my bucket-list goals.  (No, we’re not going on The Amazing Race.  Stop that.  We’d kill each other, and while it’d make for good television… yeah.)  The actual thing I’m going to be doing was in conflict with the trip, but due to the trip being off – and a very tolerant wife who’s letting me go do this – I’m now plotting how I’m going to pull this one off.

I’ll elaborate more on that goal in the coming weeks, but… suffice it to say, dear reader, I’m back. 🙂

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Autism Mom

One mom, one child, one experience on the Autism spectrum

SixSidedStars

Many Teams. One Nation.

Cailyn's Dad

The story of a father's battle with his daughter's battle with Autism

My Least Favorite Child Today

A daily ranking of my children

Autism Odysseys

Life with 4 neuroexceptional kids.

Summer all year round12

#Summerallyearround #4PawsforAbility #4PawsforSummer #ServicePaws4Summer

rosewoodgirls

Changing the Way We Think About Learning Differences

developing dad

fatherhood, family, life and love.

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Contemplative Chaos

Mother, Wife, Teacher, Writer, Perfectionist

Autism Uncensored

Capturing our Autism Journey

Autism Awareness

Wish you could see the world through my eyes

Dad Enough

A dad, his son, and dealing with Autism

Candice Curry - W3

Your story could be the key that unlocks someone else's prison. Share your story

caringforcara

The journey with our daughter, Cara.

Language Boat

immersion language learning

Different, Not Less

My Daughter On The Autism Spectrum

