Skip to content

Two Weeks to the Test

January 14, 2015

As of tonight, I’m two weeks out from going to Québec.

The Winter World Masters Games starts on January 31st (the Saturday).  We’re hoping to find a rink that we can practice at on Friday the 30th, giving us a few hours to try to work out team chemistry, to find simple things like which side folks like to sweep on, to get a sense for any idiosyncrasies in delivery or sweeping, to get used to however our skip is going to call the sweeping (and for those of you who aren’t curlers, that part can get hard when you have 3-4 games going on at once, and you’re not accustomed to your skip’s voice).

But before I ever get to the rink… I have to check into the hotel.

Now, I do realize that in theory, Québec is a bilingual territory as part of Canada – I should be able, worst-case, to swap back to English and handle everything.  But I don’t want to do that.  I’m going to be speaking English all weekend with my team, and I’m sure that I’m going to be doing a great many things in English anyway as a matter of navigating my way around the Games, since more than 20 countries are represented by 1500 athletes, and the majority are from English-speaking nations.

On the other hand… I am also still feeling the after-effects still from my stumbling failure in French at the meet-and-greet down in DC.  I probably should have managed to talk myself into going to a conversation-night here for the local group, but I’ve just not managed to carve out the time.  Instead, I’ll be winging this, and trying to keep to simple questions and answers.  Good evening, I have a reservation.  Or Where is the convention center?  Or I’m with the Israeli curling team.  No, really.  Please stop laughing.

I had a minor stumble yesterday due to a few things, so I’m rushing today to get my Duolingo caught up again in both Spanish and French – yes, the hotel has wifi, so I’m not going to fall behind while I’m there – but hopefully, this is also going to be a good chance for me to figure out whether or not I can really hack French in the real world…

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Autism Mom

One mom, one child, one experience on the Autism spectrum

SixSidedStars

Many Teams. One Nation.

Cailyn's Dad

The story of a father's battle with his daughter's battle with Autism

My Least Favorite Child Today

A daily ranking of my children

Autism Odysseys

Life with 4 neuroexceptional kids.

Summer all year round12

#Summerallyearround #4PawsforAbility #4PawsforSummer #ServicePaws4Summer

rosewoodgirls

Changing the Way We Think About Learning Differences

developing dad

fatherhood, family, life and love.

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Contemplative Chaos

Mother, Wife, Teacher, Writer, Perfectionist

Autism Uncensored

Capturing our Autism Journey

Autism Awareness

Wish you could see the world through my eyes

Dad Enough

A dad, his son, and dealing with Autism

Candice Curry - W3

Your story could be the key that unlocks someone else's prison. Share your story

caringforcara

The journey with our daughter, Cara.

Language Boat

immersion language learning

Different, Not Less

My Daughter On The Autism Spectrum

