Skip to content

So I Got Bored and Did Something Stupid…

November 25, 2015

Okay.

So, the thrust of this year for me is still trying to make the Israeli curling team.  I’ve spent the last couple of weeks traveling to bonspiels (curling tournaments) and I’ve racked up a decent record  – two appearances in event finals (one win among them, with my normal men’s team), and two other bonspiels which were great experience-builders.  But in the background… I’m still working on my languages.

For those who follow my Duolingo profile – I’m hoping against hope to be named to the Mixed Doubles team, so I’m learning Swedish.  The main goal there is to be able to read when I’m getting around and communicate on a base level, so I’m not dependent on having signs in English or guides or the like.  I have until April to get to a decent level, assuming that they name me to the team… and if they don’t, hey, there’s never a ‘waste’ in learning another language.  But anyone who also follows it will notice that I have a very weird spike in points.

I got curious tonight… and I’ve never done a language from another base language.  So I flipped over to Spanish to take a stab at Catalan, for fun… and noticed that ‘French’ had appeared as well, on the Spanish side.

Huh.  I’m Level 25 in both languages, I feel fairly confident in my Spanish, and it’d be good practice, so why not, and I clicked on ‘test for your level’…

Yeah.

So the first problem is that I’m very much used to French <–> English, so my instinct, when presented with something in French, is to respond in English, and I then blew a few questions in that fashion.  In a few spots, it just was a matter of my screwing up my understanding of what was being said, and that’s probably more my being tired from the long couple of weeks I’ve been having…

But still, it jumped me straight to Level 11, and cleared me through 68 units.  It’ll be good practice for both of my languages to gild another tree…

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. At some point, I might try Swedish for fun…

Leave a Reply

Autism Mom

One mom, one child, one experience on the Autism spectrum

SixSidedStars

Many Teams. One Nation.

Cailyn's Dad

The story of a father's battle with his daughter's battle with Autism

My Least Favorite Child Today

A daily ranking of my children

Autism Odysseys

Life with 4 neuroexceptional kids.

Summer all year round12

#Summerallyearround #4PawsforAbility #4PawsforSummer #ServicePaws4Summer

rosewoodgirls

Changing the Way We Think About Learning Differences

developing dad

fatherhood, family, life and love.

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Contemplative Chaos

Mother, Wife, Teacher, Writer, Perfectionist

Autism Uncensored

Capturing our Autism Journey

Autism Awareness

Wish you could see the world through my eyes

Dad Enough

A dad, his son, and dealing with Autism

Candice Curry - W3

Your story could be the key that unlocks someone else's prison. Share your story

caringforcara

The journey with our daughter, Cara.

Language Boat

immersion language learning

Different, Not Less

My Daughter On The Autism Spectrum

