Skip to content

T-Minus Four Weeks…

June 4, 2017

Four weeks from yesterday, I start my month-long project.  Since we’re getting closer, it’s time for an update.

I’m debating still the idea of doing some more digging on eBay for Hebrew-language DVDs.  I do have enough content for the few hours that I have free to watch TV, and I’m feeling like I’m okay otherwise in that regard, but then again, there’s the aspect of almost everything I have being something I’ve seen already in English.  I have come to the decision that English subtitles would be cheating, though, because I’d be more inclined to read those than actually trying to make sure that I’m understanding the Hebrew.

My Harry Potter books have arrived!  I opened the door last night to grab the mail to find this bag waiting for me in blue and white and… well, I can’t tell you how exciting it was to get them.  Now, I did start reading Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (or, הארי פוטר ואבן החכמים as the title’s translated), and while I’m feeling a little embarrassed that it’s taken me about an hour to read most of the way through the first chapter… I’m also pleasantly surprised that I’m understanding more than I thought I would and not just from context.

But on that topic, I’m considering the rules of the exercise.  I’m obviously going to make time to keep my Duolingo and Memrise streaks alive (the latter being far less important than the former).  But the question is what to do about words that I’m not sure of, even by context.  I’m deciding that I’m going to allow myself to make a list of words I couldn’t figure out with any potential meanings I think they have, and do lookups once per day in the evening.  The goal is to learn the language and gain confidence, not to confound myself with half-understood material.

The iPod is working well so far.  I’m game for taking suggestions if anyone has Israeli pop music that they recommend…

From → Learning Hebrew

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

SixSidedStars

Many Teams. One Nation.

My Least Favorite Child Today

A daily ranking of my children

Autism Odysseys

Life with 4 neuroexceptional kids.

Summer all year round12

#Summerallyearround #4PawsforAbility #4PawsforSummer #ServicePaws4Summer

rosewoodgirls

Changing the Way We Think About Learning Differences

developing dad

fatherhood, family, life and love.

Autism Uncensored

Capturing our Autism Journey

Acceptance from God

Wish you could see the world through my eyes

Dad Enough

A dad, his son, and dealing with Autism

caringforcara

The journey with our daughter, Cara.

Language Boat

immersion language learning

Different, Not Less

My Daughter On The Autism Spectrum

twinsonthespectrum

Just another WordPress.com site

Adventures of a Laowai

"Coming back to where you started is not the same as never leaving." -Terry Pratchett